ImagiDiem

An image a day

Martial Arts Ping Pong [311]

with 2 comments

Martial Arts Ping PongMy son and I applied martial art concepts to ping pong. Nick is going for the Cobra Kai approach. I used the Aikido approach and extended Ki as my paddle blended with the ping pong ball.

I’m working on speedlight techniques. The SB-600 is camera left, fired remotely by my D700 in Commander mode. Manual exposure, flash at 1/4 power. Aperture stopped down tight and shutter speed high to keep the ambient light down to black.

Written by arangodan

December 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

Posted in Action, Indoor, Week 8

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The lighting on this is perfect. I like how you were able to catch the ball in mid air, and how it left the shadow on the paddle. Great work. (How many photos did you end up taking before you got the perfect one?)

    Steve Gallow

    December 19, 2009 at 9:10 am

    • Thanks. There were 34 shots total. Some were rejected for lighting. I experimented with different angles and exposures in order to get the background dark. There was ambient overhead lighting, but I wanted to get the impression that the player was coming out of the darkness.

      Some shots were rejected for timing.. I shot too early or late to get the ball/paddle where I wanted it. And some were rejected because Nick was looking at the camera instead of concentrating on the game.

      arangodan

      December 19, 2009 at 10:25 am


Leave a Reply

